UNAIDS call on 48 countries and territories to remove all HIV-related travel restrictions

Simon Collins, HIV i-Base

On 27 June 2019, UNAIDS and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) issued a press statement to urge countries to remove all forms of HIV-related travel restrictions.

This was included as a promise in theĀ 2016 United Nations Political Declaration on Ending AIDSĀ .

The press release notes: Out of the 48 countries and territories that maintain restrictions, at least 30 still impose bans on entry or stay and residence based on HIV status and 19 deport non-nationals on the grounds of their HIV status. Other countries and territories may require an HIV test or diagnosis as a requirement for a study, work or entry visa. The majority of countries that retain travel restrictions are in the Middle East and North Africa, but many countries in Asia and the Pacific and eastern Europe and central Asia also impose restrictions.

Also, that since 2015, four countries have taken steps to lift their HIV-related travel restrictions: Belarus, Lithuania, the Republic of Korea and Uzbekistan.

The 48 countries and territories that still have some form of HIV related travel restriction are: Angola, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, New Zealand, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.


UNAIDS press release.UNAIDS and UNDP call on 48 countries and territories to remove all HIV-related travel restrictions. (27 June 2019).

Links to other websites are current at date of posting but not maintained.